Your Backups Have Failed

As an IT Professional, it is my responsibility to maintain the confidentiality, integrity, and availability of the data on our network.  As a result, we IT Pros may have different nightmares than other human beings.  One nightmare I have had on multiple occasions is related to losing all of our data due to some catastrophic network failure and later discovering that my backups weren’t configured correctly.  In the dream, I freak out because I knew I had not been monitoring the error logs like I needed to and missed the warning signs.

I have provided technical support on various levels for about 8 years and have seen my share of people losing data of all sorts.  I have seen parents lose hundreds of pictures of their children because their hard drive crashed so badly that only a clean room recovery and a ton of money could retrieve the files for them.  I have seen engineers lose thousands of documents and have to start all over because they relied too heavily on a fifty dollar Maxtor hard drive.  I have even seen iPhone users who failed to sync their contacts to iTunes only to have it brick on them, resulting in the loss of over 400 contacts.

Is your data being backed up?  Do you have a Mac?  If so, are you running Time Machine?  If you are looking for a great Christmas present, consider a USB or Firewire hard drive.  Also, ask your IT department how the backup job log looks.  I bet you will get some funny responses and probably a good story or two.

Leave a Reply

